A Supergirl - Origin

Have stories to share? Post them here! All writers welcome.
Bert
Overlord
Overlord

A Supergirl - Origin

Post by Bert »

I've been wanting to do this for a long time. Now, home and sick with a cold, I'm finally doing it. I've have quite a few stories floating around in my imagination, some of them involving this Supergirl character. I've tried to make the character more real world and less comic booky and fantastical. This first chapter is all I've written so far, but I intend to keep going. I've never written stories before, so don't expect much craft. I would appreciate feedback as I have plenty to learn.

Almost there, I just need to make a little disclaimer. While I've been a fan of HIP since I was about ten, which is getting to be a pretty long time ago, I abhor and am sickened by actual violence towards women. This stuff is strictly fantasy involving superpowered, fictional, costume wearing, imaginary characters. Absolutely no room for compromise there.

And away. We. Go.

A Supergirl - Origin

Chapter I

“It's not like in the comics.”

“What do you mean? I mean, you're wearing a Supergirl costume!”

“Yeah, but that doesn't mean...look, I'm using this costume because it's a symbol. It's like, shorthand for what I'm doing. People recognize it. But that doesn't mean I'm like the comics Supergirl. I can't fly. I can't shoot lasers out of my eyes. How would any of that stuff even work? Eyes react to incoming light, they don't generate it. Flying takes propulsion. How could a person generate that once they're off the ground? It's absurd.”

“Okay, so what are you saying? You don't have powers but you want to, what, run around town stopping crime in that getup anyway?”

“No, no, I'm trying to tell you...I do have powers, just not like the comics character.”

“But that's crazy. I've known you for, like...you've never had 'powers'”